Notice and Note for Primary Grades: Why Not?!

In my last post, I shared the success I’ve had in weaving close reading into our reading instruction in 2nd grade. The act of reading text multiple times with support has a clear advantage for primary readers in regards to fluency, vocabulary development and comprehension. Once I got the basics down, I started looking around for literature on close reading that would guide my mini-lessons.

Once I got my hands on Notice and Note I knew it was exactly what I had been searching for, even though it is written for grades 4+.

The authors polled teachers in grades 4-12 to compile a list of the most frequently studied novels and then began to look for similarities in plot, character development and theme. What resulted was a set of “signposts”. As drivers, when we encounter a sign such as this we know what is about to happen and change our driving accordingly.

curvy-road-ahead-sign-01

Similarly, successful readers can read the signs that the author leaves behind to know what’s coming in the text and change their thinking accordingly.

My favorite example that I have been able to apply to many of our read-alouds is the “Again and Again” signpost because it seemed most relevant to real life. If I need my husband to remember that we have plans on Saturday, I can’t expect that mentioning this once will be enough to ensure he remembers. Delicately, careful not to nag, I weave the mention of those plans into several conversations because it’s important to me that he keeps those plans in mind when he schedules other things. My kiddos responded well to this story and could certainly relate to such tactics being used by their own mothers.

Similarly, authors will mention things “Again and Again” and when they do we must ask ourselves: What is it that they want us to understand and why is it so important to the author that we understand it?

sheila_rae_the_brave

To teach this to my second graders, I created a mini-lesson using the book Sheila Rae, the Brave in which the author repeats some variation of “Sheila Rae wasn’t afraid of anything” on nearly every page. Very quickly my students picked up on the repetition. During my first attempts at close reading I might have been satisfied simply by the fact that they’d noticed it, but Notice and Note had me expecting more from such a realization.

What do you think the author wants to make sure that you understand about Sheila in the first part of this book?

Through turning and talking, my students were able to articulate that the author really wanted us to understand that Sheila Rae was brave.

Why do you think that the author, Kevin Henkes, felt that he had to work so hard to make sure that we believed that Sheila Rae was very brave?

From here, with guidance, my students acknowledged that mice are not often thought to be brave, but rather shy and timid. Upon finishing the book, I shared my thoughts aloud that when Sheila Rae became scared, I was quite surprised. Even though it shouldn’t really surprise me that a baby mouse would feel afraid when she was lost in the woods. I was surprised because Henkes had completely convinced me that Sheila Rae wasn’t afraid of anything. He had convinced me by saying so “Again and Again.”

The practice of repetition is so common in books for young readers that noticing “Again and Again” signpost was the perfect mini-lesson for my 2nd graders. My students are now independently noticing this practice and discussing its purpose in our shared read-alouds and their own texts. Thanks to Notice and Note, the highest purpose of close reading has come to fruition in my classroom: my students are reading like writers.

I began to ask myself: What other signposts can work for the primary grades? And why do the strategies and Notice and Note seem to be written exclusively for grades 4+?

I have had similar success with mini-lessons on…

  • “Word of the Wiser”, where another character gives the main character advice as in Strega Nona by Toni dePaolo and
  • “Memory Moment”, where the author reveals a memory or a flashback to share important information with the reader, which happens throughout the book Holes by Louis Sachar.

9781442449442_Screenshot_2.480x480-75

Admittedly, some of the signposts do not occur as frequently with the text complexity that is typically encountered by primary grades, such as “Ah Ha Moments” and “Contrasts and Contradictions”.

However, I think there is a treasure trove of other signposts waiting to be recognized in picture books and chapter books for primary readers. 

For example, I’ve taught a signpost lesson to help them notice “plot twists” – or events in the text that go differently than the main character expected, such as when Ramona cracks a raw egg on her head (intending to merely remove the shell of a hard-boiled egg) in Ramona Quimby, Age 8. Or when Wilbur – taking the suggestion of the goose – breaks free from his pen and discovers that freedom is not at all what he thought it would be. (Charlotte’s Web)

It was clear to us that the way a character responds to a “plot twist” tell us A LOT about the character. They can indicate a starting or ending point in the equation of how a character changes over the course of the text.

I’m working on developing a few more as we wind our way through many amazing texts this year. Though my second graders are not yet automatically reaching for the author’s intent when reading or discussing a text, our modeled think-alouds lead to richer dialogue and a deeper understanding of the text as a whole.


Where is close reading taking your primary learners? Are you searching for a higher purpose in all that re-reading? Leave your comments below.

Leave a Reply

